Breakfast at La Camera Chapel St South Yarra Melbourne

We had a short trip in Melbourne just recently and had quite an enjoyable breakfast in South Yarra at La Camera.

La Camera 446 Chapel St, South Yarra 3141 VIC

Like many restaurants I am often inclined to rate it even higher if the service is good  and the young woman who was serving us was fantastic. She was happy, attentive but not bothersome.

Quin decided to have the big boy breakfast which came with home-made baked cannellini beans which were quite nice. I recommended she not have the big breakfast because so often im really disappointed with what seems to be a production line job on big breakfasts. This was different though, it was definitely better than many big breakfasts I have had in the past. It came with bacon, a nice fat Italian sausage, potato rosti, spinach and house made tomato relish.

What amazed us was the breakfast special. Two eggs, bacon on toast with a coffee of your choice for $6.90… yep, you got it, $6.90. We chose not to have this as we wanted something a little more but wow, how cheap is that! Perth needs more restaurants and more competition to drive some of those prices down!

As for me, I decided to go for the red-hot chilli eggs (La Camera’s apparent hang over cure). I had poached eggs served with bacon, on toast with a chilli and Napoli sauce on top. The toast here is really, really big and thick. It was really enjoyable. The only complaint I have is that the so-called chilli was missing. Now I know some people would say that my chilli tolerance is something unnatural but even Q said that there was no chilli to be found. I would like to say, however, that the sauce was really rich and nice, a simple tomato sauce with a hint of spice that went nicely with the poached eggs and bacon, and the spinach I had on the side. I always tend to order a side serve of spinach or mushrooms if it’s not on there. It’s the vegie hit I like for breaky.

What I should have done, was take a photo of the omelette that i made this morning with fresh garden tomatoes, spinach and basil with prosciutto. Yep, there was still prosciutto left after yet another serve of figs with blue cheese, creme fraiche and prosciutto. I have to say, my omelette put these two pictures to shame… I need to be better prepared with my camera!

This entry was posted in Restaurant Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Breakfast at La Camera Chapel St South Yarra Melbourne

  1. Tammy McLeod says:

    I love that you enjoy the spicy stuff! Me too. I think your photos turned out well.

Leave a Reply

